Fun With Friends & Catch-Up

Hellu everyone!

I hope you other American folks out there enjoyed your Labor Day and the rest of you are having a good time with whatever is going on in your hometowns. I spent my holiday feeling very ill indeed, but a few days and a lot of chicken soup later I’m feeling much more myself. The fact that it’s starting to feel like fall has also helped to lift my spirits!

This past weekend a group of friends came along with Bryon and me to the Ohio Renaissance Festival and we had a blast! This was my 10th year in a row attending the festival and Bryon’s 5th. He’s been going every year since we met and it’s a big tradition for us. The weather was remarkable, seeing as it was pouring rain for about 2 days and about the same time the front gates opened, the clouds pulled back and the sun was revealed, warming us and drying things up the whole time we were there ๐Ÿ™‚ Highlights always include the full armor joust:

The stage performers Dirk & Guido, aka The Swordsmen:

The all of the colorful shops! Oh the shops! I could easily blow thousands of dollars in one day. I did manage to restrain myself and buy a simple glazework tumbler from a handmade ceramics shop. I spoke with the Sara and her husband (the owners of Hearthstone Arts) for a bit and she told me how each piece was made and what methods she used. The talent is absolutely stunning, so go check out their site!

After a day at the Ren Fair, the crew that road in my car (we had to take two cars since we had 9 people) decided to take an unexpected stop on the way home. Remember the vineyard I showed you a picture of last fall?

This is about 5 miles from my house and it opened to the public just this past May, seeing as the first vines were planted just 5 years ago. I commented as we drove past that I wanted, at some point in time, to stop inside and see what the place was like. My passengers decided it was time, so we turned around and in we went!

Rockside Vineyard & Winery isn’t very showy on the outside but the inside was very refined and welcoming. We sampled a few of their wines, spoke with the owners, and petted their sweet dog who was peeringย  at us longingly from behind a barrier in their office. Definitely a good choice to stop by ๐Ÿ™‚

Speaking of homemade/homegrown, I was gifted some lovely eggs this past week! Eric’s chickens have finally started laying ๐Ÿ™‚ Well, all of the chickens except the one that decided to grow up into a rooster.

Mr. Rooster is quite impressive isn’t he?

Aren’t they lovely?

 

On the yarn front, I have been quite busy! I finished the gloves/mitts I was working on and still have two small cakes of the yarn left over. I’ll get that photograph at some point! I also started and finished another convertible hat in that run rainbow sequin yarn. I love the way it striped up!

I’ve been wanting to work on whittling away some of my stash for a few reasons. Firstly, I’m running out of room to store all of my yarn and Bryon shakes his head in mock horror every time he sees me rooting through it for something. Secondly, I feel much less guilty purchasing new yarn when I know I’ve been productive with the yarn already in my clutches! The Wool Gathering festival is this next weekend and I desperately want to purchase some woolly goodness without feeling any sort of guilt…

I got rid of one of two skeins of the rainbow/sequin yarn with the hat, I used up half of the Astral yarn with my gloves, and I’m using up some of the leftover yarn from this scarf I made last winter.

Here is my first mitten! It’s nearly done ๐Ÿ™‚

The scarf was crochet and the mittens are obviously knit. I loved the yarn when crocheting and I love it when knitting. Malabrigo is officially when of my all time favorite yarns! Fluffy, stretchy, not splitty, and splendid colors. Hurrah!

Alright everyone. Sorry for the long post! That’s what happens when I miss a week’s post. My work schedule is changing next week and I will be working on Mondays so we’ll see what day ends up being my new post day! Have a wonderful week!

~Lacey

 

One thought on “Fun With Friends & Catch-Up

  1. Glad to hear you are feeling better. Chicken soup for the soul and all that! I won’t tell my girls that. You look like you have been having a great time…I can’t quite believe how these blog years roll on can you? Us Bloggers are seasonal too. I love the mitts and I love your logic…craft like crazy to use the yarn to enable you to get more! lol Can’t wait for you to share your new stash! Hope you enjoy your scrambled eggs or whatever you make with them. xxx

Leave a Reply

