Knitting Cramp

Hellu Everyone!

I hope you are all enjoying the last week here in August. I realized that I missed a couple of things in my last post. Firstly, I missed my blog anniversary! I have officially been blogging for a year now! I have to say it’s hard to believe. A big thanks to those of you who have been with me since I started! I was also awarded The Beautiful Blogger Award by Karen at The Sweaty Knitter. She posts some of the most fascinating historical tidbits about fiber crafts and shares about her charming Norwegian heritage. You never know what you’ll learn when you stop in for a visit! Thank you Karen for your nomination!

In the course of the past year, many things have happened in my life. My beloved cat Mina has developed a taste for fabric.

A pair of my pajama pants is the latest victim. We are now up to 3 tank tops, 2 bras, 2 shirts, a dress, and the pants.

I have made friends living far from me ranging from the edges of my own country  (ie: Florida & California) to other countries all together (ie: England & New Zealand)! It is wonderful to get to know people who live in other parts in the world, hearing about their lives and local cultures. If only we could meet in person for a cuppa to knit and share stories!

I started doing yoga. I’ll admit I don’t do it as often as I should, but I thoroughly enjoy every session! My joints don’t enjoy impact exercises like jogging, but my muscles sure do love a good stretch. A yoga session seems to work well for my over-active brain as well. Any one else out there a yoga lover?

Our local studio.

And I learned to knit! My fiber world has grown exponentially now that I know how to knit. You all remember my very first knit project in my second post? A sad, wonky washcloth. I’ve since knit several things and here’s the updated picture of my very first sock!

I got my first knitting cramp this past weekend turning the heel on that crazy thing. I will say once and for all, wool is certainly my favorite thing to knit with. This sock yarn is a microfiber material and there is very little give to it, hence the tension. I’ll admit that I spent so many hours working on this over the weekend that I simply had to say, “No more knitting.” I took a break from my sock, decided to leave my arm warmer in the bag, and start a crochet project! I told Cassie I would make her a hat like the one I made Sara Lynn last winter and she could choose the colors. This was the perfect time to begin her hat.

Ahh. Soft, squishy worsted weight yarn, my default crochet hook, and swift, simple crochet movements. I do love crochet 🙂 The fact that I love this yarn brand and I love this pattern also help!

I truly believe in the healing powers of switching projects periodically. My sock may sit for a while longer, but as soon as this hat is done I’m sure my arm warmer won’t be too far behind! The yarn for that project is much nicer to work with while knitting. The more I knit, the more I understand yarn snobbery. Synthetics tend to cause tension and cramps! Crochet doesn’t seem to be as bad. Any one else have those kinds of revelations or am I just overly sensitive to silly things?

I wish you all a wonderful week and I will see you in September!

~Lacey & Mina

8 thoughts on “Knitting Cramp

  1. I always say life is too short for cheap yarn, and now we can add yarn that you do not love. I switch back and forth between knitting and crochet all the time, it is so much fun to be able to do both. Happy Anniversary, we are so glad you are blogging.
    Hugs,
    Meredith

  2. Personally I’ve never had a problem with most synthetic yarn… I like it because it’s washable and cheap! (I’m a student) I find that most of the modern synthetic yarns or synthetic blends (I like 75% acrylic 25% wool) are actually pretty good to work with. That being said… I haven’t allowed myself to get into the merino and alpaca just yet!

    • That yarn I mentioned that I love (called Sheepish) is actually a blend like that. I don’t mind blends and certain synthetics. Wool is just a favorite of mine! Sadly, as you suggested, wool does tend to be more expensive. Not only that but it is hard to come by where I live. If I want wool, I must either buy online or do some serious searching at Jo-Ann’s or Hobby Lobby. I wanted to use something a bit cheaper for my first socks simply because I didn’t want to “ruin” good yarn on an experiment. Nice meeting you and thanks for stopping by!

  3. Congrats on your 1st year anniversary of your blog!!! I always look forward to reading it and seeing your new projects. I love you writing style and wonderful sense of humor. I am amazed at how much you have improved in your knitting and crocheting. Everything you make is so beautiful. What an amazing world we live in to be able to become friends with people around the world with the same hobbies, and to be able to learn from each other. I love the colors of the socks, and hat! Sorry your kitty has a new hobby also. . .making holes in your clothes. It looks like she loves her new hobby. lol I look forward to many more enjoyable blogs from you in the future!

  4. Congratulations on your first blog anniversary! I know what you mean about wool – every time I use wool, my wrists thank me very much. I’m lucky that where I live I can find good quality, reasonably priced wool yarns. Although I don’t crochet, I know what you mean about switching projects – changing from lace to plain stocking stitch for example, is definitely refreshing. I guess that’s why I always have more than one WIP on the needles!?? Looking forward to continuing to read your posts.

Leave a Reply

