Carry On

Happy Monday to you all!

I hope you all enjoyed your weekend and are settling in nicely to a new week. Can you believe we’re into the last full week of July? I’m already looking forward to fall and the cooler weather. Our summer here has been brutally hot and dry.

Our poor grass has gone rather brown and crunchy. Our yards and crops are all in desperate need of a good drink. I did a little happy dance last week when I saw this coming our way.

It didn’t bring much, but any amount of rain is good rain at this point. Despite that bit of rain, I’ve been staying indoors to avoid the burning sun while my burn recovers. I’m in my last healing stage so hopefully by my next post I’ll be all back to normal! I’ve been baking and cooking up a storm while working on my yarny endeavors. Simply put, SugarFreeMom is a brilliant website and I’ve made loads of yummy dishes from her recipes.

Delicious lasagna roll-ups and mini zucchini quiches both from Brenda’s site.

Fresh zucchini, corn on the cob, green beans, new potatoes. So many delicious veggies to acquire at the farmers’ market. The fruit is starting to appear, which makes me smile! I will admit though that I am most looking forward to when the apples and all of the apple products start showing. Homemade apple butter and hot spiced cider welcome the fall season!

While not in the kitchen, I’ve been working away on a few different things. First of all I finished my cowl!

For my life I couldn’t get a good picture of it on. Each one I tried to take turned out fuzzy. Once that was finished, I started a new ruffly scarf with the new yarn I bought last week.

As I mentioned a month or so ago, the local craft fair was cancelled for this year. Despite that upsetting news, I like to keep knitting/crocheting up things I can sell at the fair. I can’t complain about having more stuff stocked away! I’ve also been working on more teeny caps for Lucy and her donation.

This set was pink. The next will be blue!

I have such a hard time believing that the little ones as designed for the pattern will actually fit the babies. They seem so very very tiny! I’ve been altering the pattern a bit to come up with different sizes in the different colors so that way the hospital can just chose whatever size fits!

Alright. I’m off to start dinner (yet a new recipe!) and work some more on the ruffly scarf. I hope you all enjoy the week and I’ll talk to you all next time!

~Lacey

One thought on “Carry On

  1. So glad your sun burn is on the mend! You sure went a lovely lobster colour! I will check out your recipe link, looks delicious. I am enjoying Summer Produce…not much from the garden yet though. I bought the chickens a large ‘Corn on The Cob’ each today…they do love that. It is nice and cheap in the Summer so they get their fill! I have also been enjoying cherries, peaches, tomatoes and salads. This years cherries have been my favourite though. I do not want to wish the Summer away but I am looking forward to the Apples. xxx

Leave a Reply

