Normal Life Has Resumed

Hello To You All!

Ah. My fridge is restocked, my house is clean, laundry is caught up on, and the storm is a far away memory. We’ve gotten a little bit of steady rain and the temperatures have dropped down a little to a more bearable level. In response, my hollyhock bushes have bloomed 🙂

I think the purple ones are my favorites.

When my sister and I were little, our mom taught us how to make little “dolls” out of the flowers and buds of hollyhock bushes. Every time I see those lovely flowers I think of her.

I did manage to get an impressive sunburn when out enjoying the weather. The swim suit lines are still quite distinct. Ouch!

Needless to say I’ll be glad when that mess has healed. One more result of the weather has been an interesting visitor that somehow managed its way into my house. Mina discovered this guy trying to crawl up through the grate into the house from the cellar.

I have NEVER seen a slug that big or with that kind of design around here before. It was a good 5 inches long at least from nose to tail. Buh!

Ok, enough of the weather. Yarn! Oh how I love my knitty escapes ^_^ During the bout living with Donna and Keith, I started a new project with the ball of yarn left over from the sequin scarf. I didn’t have much time to work on it when we returned home, but now that things have gone back to normal I’ve been able to work on it again.

I decided to try a cowl  and I’m liking it so far. It has a high enough wool content I’m going to try to give it a good blocking when it’s done to give it a better drape. I messed up the pattern a bit and my stitch pattern is going straight up and down instead of at a diagonal, but oh well! For my first cowl I’m content with it.

I’ve also started something new! My friend Lucy over at In The Sky has started a charity project collecting hats for premature babies to donate to the local hospital. Not only was it a great idea, I realized that almost all of my friends were born premature! I started my own little collection of preemie caps to send to her and her generous cause.

I have a bunch of “baby yarn” stashed away in a few different colors and this was the perfect opportunity to do something. They take only 10-15 minutes to whip up via crochet so I imagine my tiny pile will grow quickly and soon!

Despite my claim to be on a yarn diet, I couldn’t resist a couple of purchases when I earned a little extra money helping one of my friends clean this past week and I also received a mailer from Jo-Ann’s containing a ton of 50% off coupons. Can you blame me?

I’ve been wanting to buy some more of this ruffle yarn to create more scarves to sell! Not to mention I want to have a few more color options for Donna. The same dear lady that housed me for a while was the same one who suggested these scarves to me. When I made my first one, she absolutely adored it. I decided that once I had a few more colors I would give her whichever one she wanted. They work up relatively quickly so I hope I can give her one here soon.

I’ve also decided on what yarn I want to use when I start my socks. I’ve got such a bad case of startitis!


I’m going to finish my cowl before I start the socks or I’ll lose track of everything I’m trying to do. I’ve also been watching a couple of videos about how to do cabling. I’m so excited to give it a go! It looks much easier than I anticipated and I’ll be able to scratch another goal off of my list for this year 🙂 I’m waiting to start a cable project as well. I’m hoping it won’t have to wait too long!

I hope you all have a wonderful week full of achievement and happiness. Follow Mina’s example and keep cool and relax!

~Lacey & Mina

2 thoughts on “Normal Life Has Resumed

  1. Lacey I am just catching up. What a Happy surprise to see your tiny hats! So sweet of you 🙂 Your sunburn looks shocking, youch! I burned like that when I was a child. Being a ‘Red head’ I have to hide under a rock when the sun is out. Sunburn is miserable and not at all good! Don’t do it again!!! xxx

Leave a Reply

