MY ELECTRICITY IS BACK!! HUZZAH!!

I hope you’ll pardon my long post. I must tell my story of the past few days on top of my now seemingly unimportant yarn accomplishment.

As I mentioned, my part of the county experienced a ridiculously harsh storm last Friday, June 29. I’ve seen some notable storms around here where flooding has occurred and I’ve seen the occasional tree down, but this has been the most damaging storm I’ve seen. It was like we had our own mini version of hurricane Debby up here in Ohio! The ride home from work was delayed due to the severity of the wind and rain. There were countless substantial limbs and/or whole trees were down by the time I arrived at home; I stopped counting once I hit fifty. My own street (one of the busiest streets in my city) looked like it had been torn to bits. My own house had major branches weighing down the power lines, but I doubt that was the only reason my electricity was out. The whole city was out of power! Ours was out for a 6 days, roughly 143 hours. Needless to say, food kept in refrigerators was all spoiled and everyone was trying desperately to keep themselves cool as we have been in the midst of an intense heat wave (95-105 degrees Fahrenheit).

My poor power lines being weighed down by that big old branch.

Debris was everywhere, power lines were flung willy-nilly, and homes and cars alike were the victims of fallen trees.  A whole tree tore up the sidewalk in front of my neighbor’s house and landed on their car and blocked the street.

A bulldozer eventually came to lift the tree off the poor car.

God bless Donna and Keith from our church as they housed Bryon and me while we waited for power to return to our house. Their little farm was quite homey! I got to spend some time petting the velvet noses of their horses.

Meet Remington & Montana!

The barn cats were always following us around.

The snuggly Domino

The ever fluffy Tiggy

And the lake was full of fish (and pond weed) to catch.

Can you see the little fish amidst the pond weed?

Bryon spent some time helping Keith clean up the storm mess around the property while I helped Donna around the house and in the kitchen. We enjoyed some fresh green beans from their garden as well as some of their yummy black berries!

Ok, I had to share that. Now for the much anticipated bit of yarny business! For those of you who have been following me for awhile know I made a list of goals for the year. One of my goals was to knit a proper sock. I had knit up a sock on a loom before, but I wasn’t impressed and it felt like cheating. I didn’t care if I only managed to get one lone sock done by the end, but if it was done following a pattern and on double points I would be happy. And you know what?

TAA-DAA!!!! I am so proud 😀 I won’t deceive you though. It’s a very tiny sock.

In my last order from The Loopy Ewe, they included a free treat: instructions and a teeny ball of red yarn; enough to make a single sock. I knit it a bit tight but I truly enjoyed the whole process. It’s wonderfully stretchy too, unlike my loom sock. It was also much easier than I expected and I’m excited to start a proper Lacey-sized sock! I have some yarn saved up for such an occasion and you bet you can expect to hear about me starting some real socks here soon!

Thanks for reading my ramblings and I hope to get back into my normal routine this weekend! There is much cleaning to be done in the kitchen (our fridge is not something I am looking forward ), piles of laundry to do, and a very happy Mina cat that needs extra cuddles.

Napping peacefully under her daddy’s blanket.

I want to extend an extra special thanks to those of you who sent your thoughts and prayers to my little part of the world. God bless!

~Lacey, Bryon, and Mina

6 thoughts on “MY ELECTRICITY IS BACK!! HUZZAH!!

  1. Yah! For electricity and you being back home. It looks like you made the most of your misfortune though. There is not much you can do really, there is no arguing with Mother Nature…I must admit to having a stock of emergency supplies ‘just in case’, it makes me feel better. I love your sock, it looks like a perfect little sock to me. Maybe it can be Mina’s Christmas stocking and she might find a little toy mouse in it for christmas…..

    • We did what we could. I’m so grateful we were able to stay with someone whose electricity was working. The air conditioning was DEEPLY appreciated. And you said it, there is no arguing with nature! We really are at the mercy of the elements. I also think it shall be a pretty little Christmas sock 🙂 I’m reluctant to pack it away for the next few months though. It makes me smile to see it sitting around!

  2. Poor you! 6 days is bad. That storm was a doozy! Do you think anyone doubts that we are really undergoing climate change now!? I’m really glad you were able to stay with someone. Being in your own home like that would have been awful.

  3. For many many years we had a cat named Tiggy – short for Antigone! She had a sister Izzy – short for Ismene! You can tell what my then high-school aged daughter was reading: the Oedipus Rex stories.

Leave a Reply

