Father’s Day and Chugging Along

Hellu Everyone!

Sorry to abandon you all last week. I’ve been going through a challenging time lately and I just couldn’t bring myself to think of anything worth while to write. This week honestly hasn’t been any better, but I at least have a few things worth sharing!

Bryon and I had a lot of fun escaping our house to spend some time visiting with some new friends from church. The whole family of our friends plus us gathered at their place this past Friday to play some volleyball, which was both fun and entertaining 🙂 Bryon and Chad continued to play even after the sun set and the rest of us sat down to rest.


I also got over to my parent’s place to finally get a picture of the little glass panel I got her for Mother’s Day!

It’s situated nicely on the wall in her craft room (formerly my sister’s bedroom). I must admit I’m very jealous of her having a whole room suited to hobby!

To top off the weekend was Father’s Day! We surprised my dad by having the whole clan plus (mom, dad, me and my husband, my sister and her husband, my brother, my dad’s dad, and my dad’s brother and his wife) meet at a special little restaurant up in Columbus for lunch. Thurman’s Cafe is a little hole-in-the-wall joint known for its burgers and has even been featured on Man vs. Food on the Travel Channel. After much waiting and eager anticipation for the food we’d heard so much about, our sandwiches arrived. Dad and Cameron (my brother) decided they were man enough to order the Thurmantor, which is monstrous. The rest of us kids ordered regular Thurman burgers. Every burger is 12 ounces of beef. A standard Thurman comes with the beef patty, 4 ounces of ham, mozzarella cheese, American cheese, lettuce, mushrooms, sautéed onions, tomato, pickles, banana peppers and mayo. The Thurmanator has, in addition to everything I just listed, a second burger and a heap of bacon! There’s a disturbing sense of pride when I say everyone at the “kids” table cleaned our plates.

Here is a glimpse of Cam’s Thurmanator on the left and Sara’s Thurman burger on the right.

The wait was outrageous as we expected but the food was MARVELOUS. Splendid flavor. If you’re ever in the Columbus area, love burgers, and have time to wait on a table, I highly suggest you give it a try!

On to the yarn front! I finished my sequin scarf 🙂 I adore the shine and self striping aspect of the yarn!

A couple posts ago I mentioned that I had bought from handmade soaps from The Loopy Ewe and I finally got around to making a cotton sack for it today. Unlike the last one I made, this one was 100% cotton from some leftover cotton I had when I first learned to knit.


I’m curious to see how it works in the shower as opposed to the cotton blend I used before. My last project I’ve been working on lately has been those arm warmers. I’m still on the first one, but it’s shaping up nicely.


Like I said, the shape is nice, but unfortunately I thought I’d try to be crafty. I wanted to put a little diamond design on the top and what I thought would be the top no longer seems to be the top since I’ve started the thumb gusset. Oh well. The way it’s going, I might be able to wrangle it around so that this is for the left arm instead of the right. The thumb seems to worked its way around amidst all of the decreases and increases. I’ll let you know how it turns out!

Keep me in your thoughts and prayers and let’s hope for a good week all around!

~Lacey

 

3 thoughts on “Father’s Day and Chugging Along

  1. (((Hugs))) for ya Lace. xxx I hope you move into easier/brighter times. I love your newsy posts. The Thurminator! Are you serious? Did they eat it all? Henry would love a go at that! I love the scarf and have just got myself some hand made ‘Goats Milk and Lavender Soap’ I think it needs a cotton cover now! 🙂 xxx

    • I hope so too Lucy! Thank you for your concern 🙂 And yes to the name of the burger! At one point, Arnold Schwarzenegger participated in the many strong-man style events Columbus hosted and the muscle-y competitors would go to Thurman’s to eat the massive burgers because of all of the protein. The burger was named after Arnold due to his acting role in The Terminator. Enjoy your soap!

  2. You new scarf is beautiful!!! A scarf always adds so much to an outfit. It was so nice of you to surprise your Dad, and go as a familty to take on the huge Thurmanator!!! The smaller size burger is a challenge in itself! lol Family times are what gives us joy and gives you great memories for the future. You have a wonderful family!!! I know life can get us all down sometimes, but with God all things are possible. Lean on God’s love and strength. You are in my prayers. Love you 🙂 Grandma

Leave a Reply

