Summer Begins

Well everyone, it’s official. Memorial Day has come and gone, all graduations around here are over, and the lightning bugs (or fireflies if you prefer) have begun lighting up the night. Summer is here! The weather is sunny and there are almost always puffy white clouds in the sky. I love how Ohio looks this time of year!

A nearby farm.

A road I love to drive down. So much green!

I’ve begun visiting the farmer’s market again now that my Saturday mornings are void of graduations, bridal showers, and the like. It was GORGEOUS this past Saturday and I spent quite a bit of time visiting the booths of both the artists and the farmers. I deeply admire crafty skills and I had to share pictures of these particular birdhouses.


These hollow gourds turned birdhouse were beautifully etched and I would have liked to have bought one. I had just bought a pretty frame of stained glass from another vendor though and I needed to be conscious of the money in my wallet. I forgot to get a picture of the glass before it was gifted to my mother; it matches her new craft room nicely πŸ™‚ I also got some air fresheners from a 10-year-old boy who had his own booth. He made them himself and was very proud to tell me all about how they worked! In the homegrown area of the market, I got some fresh leafy greens, a loaf of bread, and some blended herbal tea. Mina immediately took to the tea when I tried to photo it.

If there weren’t an ingredient list on the back, I’d swear there was catnip in it! It’s a blend of chrysanthemum, lemon grass, orange peel, and powdered acai berry. It smells lovely but I can’t try it until I get a filter for loose leaf. Sigh. Anywho, Mina has been happy lately as well. Like I had mentioned in my previous post, she was recovering from a bout of fleas, as well as tummy flu. She’s her normal, snuggly, ornery self now.

Napping with Bryon.

Caught bird-watching through the front window

She also had to involve herself after I received some new yarn last week.

She snuck her paw into the view right as I snapped it.

 

I couldn’t pass this up since it was a special edition of this yarn and it just looked yummy! I ordered some handmade soaps along with it and when it arrived, the whole package smelled lovely! I love The Loopy Ewe πŸ™‚ A smidge pricey perhaps, but I end up spending a ridiculous amount of time squishing each and every hank I order from there. There isn’t exactly an LYS around here so it’s a treat to buy wool from them instead of a mostly acrylic blend from a chain store. As I’ve mentioned before, it’s hard to find much wool around here.


I finished my second ruffle scarf and have moved on to another scarf, but this one is for personal use instead of the craft show.

I’m loving the self-striping aspect and the sequins. I also learned how to do a scallop edging with this pattern! It’s so fun to learn new things with my knitting! I still need to learn cables. I keep hearing that it’s not as hard as it looks, but they still seem a bit intimidating. In the meantime, I have this scarf and my arm warmers to keep me busy. I’m still plugging away on the first one!

Have a wonderful week and I hope to not be away as long this next time!

~Lacey & the Mina cat

7 thoughts on “Summer Begins

  1. Wow you have been so busy. We are in the middle of graduation season, my son graduates on Thursday so we are still crazy busy. Love the beautiful yarn.
    Hugs,
    Meredith

  2. Yup! Looks like you may have got yourself some Catnip Tea! Lol. Ohio does look pretty. I have never seen a ‘Fire Fly’, that would be exciting to me. I love a mooch around farmers markets…but not with an impatient 7 year old in tow! I am glad Mina is clearly feeling better and clammering for the ‘Limelight’ once again. Have a great week. xxx

  3. I love how you embrace each day and take the time to take pictures of this beautiful world God created for us to enjoy. It sounds like you have a wonderful Farmers Market to explore! You purchased some neat items. You are knitting so many beautiful things!!! Mina looks so cute. I am glad she is feeling better! Love you!

Leave a Reply

