Celebrating

I hope you all had a wonderful weekend! Judging from some of the other posts I’ve read recently, it has been sounding like things have been a bit rough lately. I hope my happy post can help cheer some of you up. I’ve had a wonderful weekend. I’ll talk about all of the non-yarny things first.

Firstly, one of my  friend’s dogs had pups! Don’t think about the mechanics of it, but they are shepherd/yorkie pups and they are adorable! Belle is a beautiful mommy.

7 little pups: 3 girls and 4 boys

I got to hold one of the little girls and I wanted to badly to take her home! She is barely a week old in this picture.

She fit right into my hand 🙂

We have also had some GORGEOUS weather this past week. It has brought all of the local critters out in the open, particularly the multitude of bunnies that live in our backyard.

Can you see the two bunnies?

This picture is from my parents’ backyard. It was just too pretty to pass up. I love all of the green this time of year!


The weather also behaved well for the graduation ceremony and the bonfire this weekend. My sister and her husband both graduated from college this weekend! We’re so proud of the both of them 🙂

We also had a bonfire this evening for our church’s youth group. It was held at Eric & Tammy’s house so I got to see the chickens again! They are growing up nicely and have moved to their outdoor quarters.

Ah, happy sunshiney weekend ^_^ Now on to yarny business! I finally got my chevronish scarf blocked along with the now complete shawl. This is the first time I’ve truly blocked something and wow! Wool really really grows when hot water hits it!

It’s about a foot or two longer than I originally planned, but I do like it. And the shawl grew to a nice size, but the moss stitch rows got a little lost in the process. It will be great to have when fall comes around in a few months!

I’ve also got some more work done on my ruffly scarf. I’m so close to being done. It’s been such a quit knit. I can whip these up for the craft fair and they look almost like something from a store!

These have been my home projects. I’ve also been working on some stuff during lunch/down time at work at the office. As I’ve mentioned before, my momma scrapbooks. She uses all sorts of stickers/jewels/appliques on her pages and small flowers are apparently are a hot commodity in the scrapbook world. I started experimenting with a tiny hook and embroidery floss and have been working up some tiny flowers!

I absolutely adore this little twirly flower! It is the May Roses pattern from Lucy at Attic 24, and so are the leaves I’ll show you in just a moment. I’ve also been experimenting on my own for some flowers. I made this one up myself 🙂

Nothing glorious, but it’s a start! I’m going to be making up a bunch of tiny flowers of various colors and styles for my mom and her scrap buddies. Taa-Daa!

Oh, and just as the icing on the cake, Bryon finally found a job! After 4 months of unemployment, he now has a full-time job again, which he started this past Tuesday. Happy, busy, beautiful week 🙂 The only non-beautiful part has been treating our poor Mina for fleas…Buh. Thankfully she’s been taken care of and my paranoia has been subdued. With that exception, I hope this next week is just as wonderful for you all as this last one was for me!

~A satisfied Lacey, an employed Bryon, and a flea-free Mina

8 thoughts on “Celebrating

  1. I love this happy post, congratulations to Bryon. I don’t know how you will resist a puppy, what cuties they are. I know someone who recently had ‘Porkies’ pug/Yorkie cross. Cute. Poor Mina ‘flea bag’. 🙂 You are being really creative on the yarny front, I think you have my share of Mojo! I love the shawl and the flowers. Of course I loved the chicken pic too. xxx

    • It’s very hard to resist nabbing one of those darling puppies especially seeing as Bryon and I both want a dog. The real issue is that our landlord says no dogs 😦 Someday we will own one! My sister would kill for a porkie I think. I have seen them before and they are very cute! I hope you get your hooky mojo back soon. I’m willing to share!

  2. Congratulations to Byron getting the job! That’s wonderful news! Those puppies are so adorable! And I love those crochet flowers! So pretty! The one you did by yourself is my favourite.

    • There are still 2 pups up for sale and I desperately want one! Oh well I guess. Landlord has the final say. And thank you for the flower comment 🙂 I’m having fun trying new patterns!

Leave a Reply

