Mom’s Day Weekend

I hope you all had a wonderful Mother’s Day! Well, those of you in the U.S. at least. Happy Mother’s Day to the rest of you in your respective countries 🙂 My family had a lot going on this holiday weekend. Before Saturday’s madness set in, I spent my Friday evening getting some of my own things done. I snagged some new needles from Jo-Ann’s (I needed some for some upcoming projects) and that Bali yarn I had mentioned to you previously. Sara Lynn blessed me with a gift card to Hobby Lobby as a late birthday gift knowing I would already have something in mind.

See why I wanted it? Such pretty colors ^_^ Although I have been wanting this yarn, I was kind of hoping to spot a different yarn at either store. Unfortunately, neither our tiny Jo-Ann’s or even the Hobby Lobby carry it. I had to head to the monster-sized Jo’s in a nearby city to find it.

This was recommended to me by a friend (and mother figure) from my church. She said she saw a lady at a craft show recently who was knitting up scarves from this and thought it might be a good thing for me to stash up for my own craft show booth. I’m excited to try it!

Saturday was a busy day for my church family. There was a surprise 75th birthday party for one of our ladies. Irene is like a grandmother to me. She is such a fun woman and is one of the spunkiest older women I know!

After that, I headed home, baked cookies, had dinner, then went out to the church for a benefit concert. My brother was in one of the bands playing.

My brother, Cameron, is in the black cabbie hat & white shirt.

Nate Laughunn and the Giggles is the name of the group he is in and they are leaving this Saturday for an awesome experience. They are flying out to Colorado to record a CD and possibly sign for a record deal! We’re very excited for all the boys, so please send up prayers/thoughts/energies for safe travels and a great experience.

Mother’s Day was a relatively quiet, fun day. The boys in Cameron’s band stayed the night Saturday so they joined our clan for lunch.

Relatively quiet…Boys will be boys. The had fun setting off firecrackers while us ladies cooked up lunch.

Sara and Matt came down too so the whole family was together +3. With that many young adult males (and a few hungry ladies) we had a king sized cook out: burgers, hot dogs, brats, cole slaw, macaroni salad, macaroni & cheese, cheesy potatoes, chips, baked beans, and to finish it all off we had a birthday cake to celebrate my brother’s 19th birthday since he will be on an airplane for his special day!

All of us kids: Cameron, Nate, Zach, Alex, Matt, Bryon, me, and Sara

Later that evening after all of the college kids headed back to campus, mom came over to my place to relax and watch some Smallville with Bryon and I. She was the one who bought season 10 for Bryon’s birthday so she knows all about our love for the series. I was thrilled when she said her curiosity was peaked and she wanted to start watching it with us! I was able to sit and knit happily on a new project while we watched the show.

In preparation for knitting socks, I am trying a set of arm warmers on double points. This is my first real attempt at anything on double points! I’m adding a little diamond sequence along with the pattern. I’m hoping these turn out well! I love learning new things 🙂

I’ll leave you all for now. I have a very yarny post awaiting you for this weekend! Enjoy the rest of your week!

~Lacey

3 thoughts on “Mom’s Day Weekend

  1. You lot sure know how to have a good get together. I love reading about your life. I can see how it was love at first sight with the ‘Bali’ yarn too. You are getting good at this knitting lark. xxx Can you believe it is nearly the weekend again? Yippeee! xxx

  2. We do have a fun time 🙂 It’s such a blast when my siblings get to come home from college. Sara and Matt graduate this weekend and they’re (to the best of my knowledge) moving back here literally smack dab between my parent’s house and mine. I’m so excited to have them back!

    • Well, we would be between you and the ‘rents, if the house was finished. 😛 For now we’re making due with the guest room. I can’t wait to actually settle in! And I love your rainbow yarn. Is muey beautiful. 🙂

Leave a Reply

