Back on the Ball

Hellu!

I hope you all have had a wonderful weekend. I want to start by recap-ing my last weekend. I had a wonderful time having a cook-out with my family and I was happy to come across this picturesque moment.


Sometimes this is what “spending time together” looks like for the young men in my family. You can see my husband scrunched down on the floor next to my brother-in-law and my brother up on the couch. I might add they are all playing the same game together on their own respective computers. Kinda sad if you ask me, but it is what it is!I love them all ๐Ÿ™‚

This weekend has been a bit different. Remember the magnolia tree I showed last week when it bloomed? Well, almost all of the petals are already coating the ground. I wasn’t kidding when I said the beauty was short lived! The only consolation is that it will continue to bloom throughout the year now that things have warmed up again. I won’t post a picture of the front yard. It’s a bit too depressing. I will however show you the fruits of my labor this weekend.

I finished the first tube scarf and went on to crank out three more! When I actually sat down and dedicated time to them (I’ll admit I’ve spent an unreasonable amount of time being crafty in front of the television this weekend), they only took about three hours to complete per scarf. I am so happy to have whittled down some of the Fun Fur stash! I am now Fun Furred out to say the least. I did also manage to finish my other scarf I have been working on for some time now. Remember this?

It’s now folded up and waiting to be blocked. I hope the blocking helps; the thing curls in on itself horribly. That and the directions didn’t bind off with the pointy/scalloped edge. It’s mildly wavy so I’m hoping some good blocking will also take care of that.

There was a little side project I have been meaning to whip up for a while. A few weeks ago I had ordered some homemade natural soaps from the nephew of one of my coworkers. I wanted to make up a little cotton holder for it to hang in my shower.

I'm excited to try it out!

Finally for the weekend, I’ve tracked down a new shawlette pattern to try along with my merino/cashmere blend. I just started working with the Skein yarn I purchased back at the beginning of the year. Granted, it’s a bit splitty but it is by far the softest yarn I’ve ever worked with!

The picture doesn’t show it very well, but it’s a very pretty sea blue/green color. I’m curious to see how this turns out. Wish me luck and I will see you all next weekend ๐Ÿ™‚

6 thoughts on “Back on the Ball

  1. Im afraid to say it looks like that in the Clicky Needles’ household sometimes too! At least they’re quiet!!!!!!

  2. You’re lucky that your magnolias keep blooming. In this part of the world, they only bloom once in Spring. The young men pic is funny – it’s a global phenomenon. Same thing here!

    Sorry to hear your scarf rolls on itself and that the edge isn’t quite right. With that pattern it shouldn’t, so I think the blocking will help it. The chevron pattern should do the jagged edge thing by itself as it’s part of the pattern.

    • Rolling in will be fixed by some good blocking. It’s the edge that bothers me. The bottom section worked out beautifully but the top part is barely wavey, much less angular like the bottom. Considering I’m still a bit of a knitting novice, I’m wondering if I botched something somewhere. The only thing is I can’t find what I did wrong! Oh well, I’m hoping to block it into better shape and at least the project wasn’t meant to be gifted to anyone!

      • Try binding it off again with a larger needle. It could be that your tension is a little bit too tight for the edge to curve, I have terribly tight bind-off tension and I’m always having to redo things like the bind-off of shawls for that reason.

  3. I love the pictute of “the boys” all play a game on their laptops. You amaze me at how fast you can finish your projects. Good luck on your new projects. Your magnolia tree does have beautiful blooms. It is great it continues to bloom all summer! Have a great week!!!

Leave a Reply

