Versatile Blogger Award

While I was away, I received an award from the lovely Lucy at In The Sky.


My first blog award! Yay! Thank you so much Lucy 🙂 I’m very honored to have gotten any kind of award. Now that I’ve updated you all on the goings-on in my life for the past month, I have an opportunity to follow up on the rules of the blog.
After receiving the award you then need to:

In the same post, add the Versatile Blogger Award.
In the same post, thank the blogger who nominated you in a post with a link back to their blog.
In the same post, share 7 completely random pieces of information about yourself.
In the same post, include this set of rules.
Inform each nominated blogger of their nomination by posting a comment on each of their blogs.
ooh and forward it to 15 other bloggers.

I think it is now time for me to share some random pieces of information with you all. It was much harder to come up with 7 than I thought it would be! I hope you enjoy learning a little bit more about me.

1. Although my degree is in Music Education, I considered many other possibilities. My childhood dream was to become a Marine Biologist and study sharks. I still find them very fascinating!

Possibly my favorite shark is the Mako shark.

2. When I was in high school, I took fencing lessons with one of my best friends for a school project. I was required to find an 8 week long project that involved learning an entirely new skill so I had the perfect excuse to pursue my love of Medieval/Renaissance warfare and weaponry! I would have preferred to learn broadsword, but there wasn’t a place close enough to home that offered the classes.

Just to clarify, this is NOT Sara Lynn and myself at practice!

3. Along with warfare and weaponry comes armory! I taught myself how to make chainmaille 🙂 For any of you who might not know, that is the type of armor created by linking thousands (if not more) of metal rings. Granted, I have never created anything large like a hauberk (a maille shirt) but I enjoy the smaller things I have made! I’ve often come across it being referred to as weaving with metal. An apt description in my opinion. You just use rings instead of yarn/thread and pliers instead of hooks/needles or a loom.

My own little collection of supplies.

4. I am an avid reader, particularly of fantasy. I like the idea of being able to escape reality through my books about magic and dragons. Pardon my inner geek! Here is my bookshelf which contains most of my fantasy collection plus some others.

This is an unadulterated view of this bookshelf, so I'm being honest. No judging please!

5. I have a strong desire to live a more natural life. I often dream of things like having my own garden/orchard, canning and preserving what we grow, having a couple of hens, spinning and dying my own wool (whether or not I actually own the fiber animals is debatable), and staying home to cook and clean and hone my crafty skills while providing in those ways for my family. My dad and I often dream together about having a family commune someday. It will probably never happen, but who knows. It might!

6. Despite my 24 years, I have lived in 11 different houses. Two of those were short term situations during college, but truth be told, I have lived in 11 actual houses. 13 if you include a college dorm and an apartment. Needless to say, I will be very happy when Bryon and I can finally own a place of our own and settle down somewhere!

7. I am a recent yoga addict. I’ve decided I really want to treat my body better and after some research, I have decided that yoga looks to be a great option for that! It has many different styles so I can keep it low key for now to keep my asthma at bay, it is good for your joints (which my bad knees and ankles appreciate), it’s a good stress reliever, and I feel great afterwards instead of thoroughly exhausted. So glad I found it!


Alright. There are 7 things about myself. Maybe they will give you a little glimpse into my odd life. Now to get on with the giving of the awards! I shamefully admit I don’t follow very many blogs so I can’t recommend a full 15. I will give you the names and sites of the wonderful women I do follow so you can pop in and see them as well. Seeing as Lucy has already received this award I will skip over hers and go to the others:

Alice at Crochet With Raymond– serious color therapy here!

Lucy at Attic 24– a creative crochet genius/awesome mom & wife

Teresa at Teresa Kasner– a true American Girl

Clicky Needles– check out her clever scavenger hunt!

Mereknits– take a look at her beautiful woven shawls!

Wei Siew at Kiwiyarn Knits– this woman is a knitting machine. Period.

Be sure to check them out! And thank you again Lucy for the award 🙂

Leave a Reply

