It’s Finally Acting Like January in Ohio

I hope you all had a wonderful weekend. During this past week, January has blossomed into winter. About time!

I officially had to dust and scrape my car out of a layer of snow and ice. It was so cold that the snow wasn’t even wet enough to pack into snow balls! It was beautifully drifted and fluffy.

You can practically see each of the pretty little crystals! I do love summer and swimming and sunny picnics, but I do love the stunning beauty of winter. I couldn’t live somewhere where I didn’t get to experience all four seasons. I was out delivering my Avon this afternoon out near Buckeye Lake and I simply had to stop and get a picture of these frozen field weeds for you.

We always called these “caterpillar plants” growing up. The fuzzies were completely crystallized and were blowing gracefully in the winter wind.

Also making me smile this week: a happy package from the lovely people at The Loopy Ewe!

Skein- 80% Merino, 20% Cashmere Fingering Weight

Dream in Color, Smooshy- 100% Superwash Merino

Alpaca With a Twist, Baby Twist- 100% Alpaca

All three of these are new brands to me which I am excited to try. I have plans for each of them already! Skein is a new brand at The Loopy Ewe and I’m dying to try it! There is a lovely knit scarf pattern that looks like it would be scrumptious in a merino/cashmere blend. I hear great things about Dream in Color Smooshy, particularly that it makes extra cushy socks! I don’t plan on using this hank for socks. I’ll stick to cheaper yarn for that until I have a better handle on it. I’m particularly looking forward to using the Baby Twist. The picture actually manages to make it look as soft and fluffy as it is in person! I could cuddle and squish this hank for ages; it’s marvelous!

This is my progress so far on Luke’s blanket. It’s coming along quite well I think! I definitely think I can have it ready by the time he makes his debut next month 🙂 Oh, and my sister is officially a married woman now! Her ceremony was today and from what I read in my mother’s message to me earlier, everything went beautifully. I’m excited for when they all come home next weekend! I think that’s all for me for now. Please send your thoughts and prayers towards my little family of Bryon, Mina and myself. This next week is going to be an interesting one for us and potentially a rough one. I hope to talk to you all next weekend!

Happy Winter Wishes!

 

3 thoughts on “It’s Finally Acting Like January in Ohio

  1. I always look forwarad to reading your blogs. Your winter pictures are beautiful!!! You are an excellent photographer. Your new yarn is beautiful! Luke will enjoy snuggling in the blanket you are making him. That is so nice of you. I love your positive attitute about winter, instead of complaining, like so many do. God has given us a beautiful world to enjoy. My prayers are with your week goes okay. I can’t wait to hear about the trip and wedding too. Love you Hon!!!

  2. You must be disappointed at having missed your sister’s wedding. I hope they do something also when they come home? On a positive note, I love all your new yarn! So jealous! Looking forward to seeing what you make of it. I love winter too – all that beautiful snow! We don’t get much (if any at all) where I live, so it’s always nice to see and experience it. Hope Mina gets better soon. xx

Leave a Reply

