Happy Holiday Endings

Hello again everyone!

It has been a little while, but as you may understand, I have been busy with family over the past week. Christmas day was spent primarily at my parents visiting with them and my brother,sister, and dear hubby. I must say I enjoyed my new goodies: a couple of new movies (including Much Ado about Nothing- highly recommended!), a new outfit, crafty accessories (point protectors, stitch holders, etc.), and possibly the most exciting, a ball winder and a new camera!

My new toy 🙂 I do need to invest in a swift at some point. That would make things even better! I have spent a fair bit of time winding up a few different hanks I had stashed away. There is something quite therapeutic about cranking pretty wool into pretty patterns on a center pull ball. My brother and Bryon spent a good bit of time snickering at me as I happily cranked away.

I also started and finished a new project! I’ll just say that I love fast projects ^_^ This is my new hat! I just need to put beads on the drawstrings.

It is a convertible hat/cowl. The drawstrings turn it into a slouchy hat!

Fast easy and cute! Thanks to April, whose blog is full of cute hats and very clever creations! I had told you all I wanted to finish my blanket by New Year, but I was unable to stick to my goal…..I’ll admit I’ve been slacking. I have spent an unreasonable amount of time playing a video game along-side Bryon. I can’t even remember the last time I played a video game! If I hadn’t been involved in that, I would have finished in time. I have just a few rows left, so I can be positive I will be done by the end of this week before my next blog!

Last night and today have been spent celebrating New Year with my family and our church family, which has helped drag me away from my video game 😉 So much food! New Year’s Eve dinner was comprised of various appetizers, which was fun but very bad for my waistline. Today was the more standard January 1st meal: pork ribs, mashed potatoes, sauerkraut and veggies. I’ll admit that I’m glad I only have to eat kraut one day a year! Do you have any New Year traditions?

I have one day left of my vacation,so Bryon and I visiting with friends since we’ve been busy with my family. In the meantime however, we ( and Mina! who is recovering from an unfortunate trip to the vet- no worries, she’s on meds now) are enjoying some down time at home relaxing with new movies, video games, and yarn.

I hope you all have had a wonderful holiday season and are ready for things to settle back into a routine again! Have a good week!

~Lacey and a sleepy Mina

3 thoughts on “Happy Holiday Endings

  1. Well, you may be feeling guilty about playing video games and not knitting, but in terms of keeping your marriage strong, it’s a good thing. 🙂 I look forward to seeing the finished blanket when it’s done. Happy New Year!

  2. Love the hat and the ball winder looks fabulous. Perhaps if I send you my skeins you can return them as balls? It sounds like you had a good holiday…I try not to feel guilty when I don’t make crafty progress…it is good to enjoy doing other things too. Sorry to hear Mina has been poorly, please pass on my best regards to her and I hope she is feeling much better, also I would be grateful if you could wish her a ‘Happy New Year’ from me, a little kiss on her head would be good too 🙂 I am wondering why Kraut on new years day? xxx

    • I’ll admit I don’t think I’d mind winding up a few miles of wool 😉 I rather enjoy it! And thank you for helping to convince me that I shouldn’t feel guilty. I will most certainly give Mina a cuddle for you! To explain the kraut- my father is of German descent and it is an old tradition to have pork and sauerkraut on New Year’s day for good luck. Seeing as I believe I live a blessed life, it must be good for something!

Leave a Reply

