The Tree is Up!

At long last, our Christmas tree is finally standing and our house is officially set.


Please keep in mind that Bryon and I are still young and haven’t even been out of our parent’s houses for 2 full years yet. Obviously our tree is a bit sparse. The ornaments we do have were the ones we had growing up that we kept upon moving out. I got the idea from the charming Teresa about showing a few key ornaments that help define who we are.

A tiny crochet angel made by my grandmother on my dad's side.

One of my many glass/crystal snowflakes. I think are stunning! Needless to say, these types or ornaments are much higher up to help save them from Mina.

Many of Bryon's childhood ornaments light up or are animated when plugged into the string of lights. This adorable little clock is both! The clock face lights up and the pendulum with the mouse on it swings back and forth.

Mina had fun eating helping with the tree.

Yes....we have a fake tree. I understand the considerable debate on this, but it is what it is!

Crazy cat. She’s been all sorts of nibby this week! She got herself twisted up in Cassie’s scarf this past Friday as well.

Speaking of Friday, my work schedule changed this week. Previously I had worked Monday through Thursday, working long hours each day. I still work the long hours, but now I work Tuesday through Friday. I was not very pleased with this new change for various reasons, so I was not happy as I drove to work this past Friday. When me and my grumpy self got out of my car when I arrived, I had my breath taken from me by a BEAUTIFUL sunrise!

Absolute beauty ^_^

My day started to get better after that!

Saturday went well also. We had my sister’s bridal shower that morning! I made my chocolate chip biscotti again, Cassie made a cheese fondue, Sara Lynn loaned us her espresso machine, and we bought several other little foods to go along with the rest. The biscotti recipe was requested last time I mentioned it and so I will put it up at the end of this post!

Some of the nibbles!

Sara had a wonderful time visiting with friends and family, munching on treats, and opening her gifts!

I’m so happy for her! She is actually over this evening to spend a bit of time with me while she is home on holiday break. She’s in her final year of college so it makes me happy to have her home! Her apartment mates in school are all avid knitters so she understands my obsession 🙂 When she came tonight she asked if she could raid my scrap stash for yarn to knit up some scarves for some sock monkeys she is making for her close friends. I am more than happy to help her in this! She decided on these bits:

I hope her mini scarves turn out well. My latest scarf is nearly done! I only have a few inches left so I feel comfortable spending some time working on my other projects. My sock is coming along nicely for one thing.

What you're seeing is obviously the cuff folded down, the very flat heel, and the toe of the sock emerging from the loom.

I know I’m painfully slow, but I do enjoy what I manage to do! Well everyone, I’m off for the evening. Here is the biscotti recipe! I got it from a magazine so it calls for a particular store-bought ingredient.

1 package (1 lb. 1.5 oz.) sugar cookie mix (Betty Crocker is recommended by the recipe)

1/3 cup butter/margarine softened

1 egg

1/4 cup all-purpose flour

1 cup mini choc. chips

Make cookie dough by blending mix, butter, egg, and flour until a stiff crumbly dough forms. Stir in choc. chips (or other items such as chopped hazelnuts if you like). Form into rectangle of desired size onto an ungreased cookie sheet. Bake at 350 degrees for 25 minutes. Cool for 15 minutes before cutting into 1 inch wide strips. Place strips on their sides back on the cookie sheet and bake 10-12 minutes. Be sure to flip once. Place on cooling racks and cool completely.

Enjoy!

~Lacey, Mina, and Sara

5 thoughts on “The Tree is Up!

  1. I love your tree nearly as much as Mina does. Your sock is mightily impressive and the recipe sounds delicious. Your sister is very lucky you allow her access to your yarn stash 🙂

    • Thanks for appreciating my poor sock. It looks alright in general but I’m getting tired with the loom. It seems to take forever! I’m beginning to think I need to break down and start knitting socks like normal knitters do 🙂 It might be faster! My sister’s little scarves that she made up out of my scrap stash are coming along nicely. I’m happy to have been able to help her out!

    • Oh it’s an adventure alright! She’s either climbing the tree, eating the tree, batting the ornaments off the limbs, or pulling the lights off. I’m sure Roly is enjoying his first Christmas adventure too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

