Happy Thanksgiving!

Hellu Everyone!

Wow, sorry I missed last weekend’s post. My life is very busy right now as we have all been preparing for Thanksgiving here in the good ol’ USA. Last weekend was spent mostly running errands and being social. Dinner and games at Sara Lynn’s on Friday, a long over-due visit to Bryon’s brother’s family on Saturday, and a get together with my mom’s brother’s family on Sunday. I can’t express to you how precious these people are to me!

<insert fun picture of massive family here> I didn’t get permission to post group pics on the internet from everyone and I won’t presume to do so without asking someone first :p

This week has been remarkably busy as well. Much yarn was bought (mostly gift supplies, I promise!), many foods were made, and more family and friends were visited. Wednesday was the last day of the work week, so that is when the holiday prep began! My first stop was the craft store. Yarn was purchased for my mother’s scarf to match her new jacket as well as yarn for a baby blanket for my cousin’s baby bump 🙂 As you’ve seen, I’m coming along with my pink/purple one. The only problem with that is I was informed about a month ago that I will be needing a little BLUE blanket! I have full faith that I can finish my current one and complete the next one before baby Luke comes to join us in March! Naturally I can’t display those new yarns quite yet. You’ll see them all in a bit though! Here are the yarns I picked out for myself:

I exercised great will power in purchasing only three skeins!

I happened upon this yarn the last time I was in the store but didn’t have any coupons and couldn’t bring myself to purchase any new yarn at the moment. This time, it was all I could do to keep from purchasing one of each and every shade! There are about 20 different marvelous colors, and it would have cost toooo much to get them all at once, especially right before Christmas! The colors are brilliant, they shine and shimmer like they are woven of silk, they are soft and squishy, and are even a wool blend! I can’t describe to you how happy that all made me! Nine times out of ten when you discover a fantastic looking yarn like this, it is 100% acrylic. I’m always pleased to find a particularly fun looking yarn that actually includes wool. I’m very excited to work with this yarn. I anticipate a hat for myself sometime this winter.

After my shopping venture, I came home and proceeded with putting together the holiday food:

Chocolate Chip Cheese ball

Butterscotch and pumpkin pies

All that is left of the Sweet Potato Souffle

I love holiday food 🙂 The chocolate chip cheese ball seems to confuse people the most, but it’s delicious!

1 8oz. package of softened cream cheese

1/2 c. softened butter

3/4 c. powdered sugar

2 T brown sugar

1/4 tsp vanilla

3/4 c. mini choc chips

finely chopped nuts to coat the ball (pecans or hazelnuts are best)

Chocolate graham crackers

Beat together butter and cream cheese until smooth, then blend in sugars and vanilla. Stir in chocolate chips. Cover the mix and refrigerate for 2 hours. Shape mixture into ball, wrap in plastic, and chill for another hour. Coat the ball in the chopped nuts and serve smeared on the graham crackers. Enjoy!

The majority of our feast! Turkey, mashed potatoes, deviled eggs, green beans, sweet potato souffle, stuffing, noodles, and various appetizers. The desserts came out later after everyone had a chance to digest!

This Thanksgiving was spent at my folks and we all had a wonderful time. I have so many things to be thankful for I can’t even begin to list them! We spent the day eating, watching movies, and generally doing nothing other than enjoying each others company.

Bryon enjoyed some time visiting with Max.

Thursday wrapped up and we spent Friday doing pretty much nothing yet again. Ahhh, the holidays 🙂 Bryon and I stayed home (at least until evening when I went out with Grandma) curled up in the living room alternating between napping and reading, and video games for him and knitting for me. Does it get much better?

Mina enjoyed our lazy weekend too! The only problem was that foot kept kicking me in the back of the head :p

Today was another eventful day in that it is was much anticipated Ohio State vs. Michigan football game.

Michigan is our biggest rival in college level football and our church has a potluck tailgate party each year for the event and we display the game on our big screen where we typically display the worship lyrics and sermon slides. As I did last year, I took my knitting to work on while I watched the game. All in all, I’ve gotten a lot done in the past few days on my blanket! I also (finally) started another mitt to match the other! Woo! I did however start these on a set of metal needles. Sadly, bamboo just doesn’t work well for me and my tight knitting. Too sticky. I anticipate this second mitt coming along much more smoothly than the first. I’m already enjoying it more! The only sad part was that the Buckeyes lost by 6 measly points. It was an excellent game though!

Alright. I’m winding down for the night and finishing up laundry before I head off to bed. I wish you all a wonderful Sunday and don’t forget, Thanksgiving isn’t just a holiday. It’s a year-round spirit of thankfulness!

Goodnight from a very content family 🙂

2 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving!

  1. I’ve loved reading about everyone’s Thankgivings. It sounds like a fantastic opportunity for a family bonding get-together time over really great food. Thank you for sharing. Your yarn purchases sound exciting!! There’s nothing better than indulging in yarn retail therapy in my opinion!

  2. Lacey, thanks for stopping by my blog. I think the yarn ball ornaments are Styrofoam balls covered with yarn, they are very light weight. Did you know my oldest son just signed on the swim at The Ohio State University? He will be leaving in August. I hear it is a fantastic program with an amazing coach.
    Hugs to you,
    Meredith

Leave a Reply

