One Happy Weekend :)

Hellu Everyone!

Can I just say that I’ve had a spectacular weekend? Ah, God is good! Firstly, I spent some time with my momma on Friday afternoon after giving my house its weekly cleansing. My sister’s bridal shower is coming up in a month and we were putting together the invitations. My mom is a scrap-booking fiend and she is very good at it! She has enough supplies and gadgets of her own to rival a small store! If any of you don’t know what scrap-booking is, let me know and I’ll put up some examples in my next post. Just as she did for my wedding, she had hand-made each of the shower invites and I was all too happy to help out!

Our workspace!

Mom pulled out her card making goodies and we set up shop in the kitchen seeing as her normal craft space was having the carpet deep cleaned. Since Sara’s actually wedding is taking place in Italy (as I mentioned previously), naturally that is the theme for the shower. Our design was as follows:

Seeing as the Italian flag doesn’t have any kind of insignia in the center, we added our own! Once again, my camera butchers the vibrant colors and details of reality. The light really sparkles off the faux crystal in the woman’s ring. We were so pleased with how they came out! Once the cards were done, I went home to cook dinner. First time I’ve actually truly cooked up anything since I had my whole surgery ordeal 3 weeks ago. I was so happy! Alethia came over and joined me for baked barbecue chicken and stuffing and she brought some yummy homemade mac&cheese. We then sampled some chocolate chip biscotti I made as a recipe test run for my sister’s shower. Follow that up with some knitting and sigh contentedly. Ahhhhhh………

Just when I thought the weekend couldn’t get any better, Saturday happened! As you can see, the leaves have nearly finished falling and I decided it was time to break down and do some Christmas shopping 🙂 Spent the morning doing that and doing some grocery shopping as well. I love getting things I know will make my loved ones happy! I know it’s over-commercialized and there are many people who are Scrooges about the Christmas season, but I generally adore it. Once I look past all of the Santa schemes and sales pitching, I see the warm fires, hot chocolate, and smiling friends and family celebrating the true meaning of Christmas.

Anywho, moving on. I’ve got to get through Thanksgiving first! Saturday afternoon was spent mainly chopping various vegetables and chicken for one of Bryon and I’s favorite meals: Spicy Peanut Soup! *recipe listed at the end* It takes a lot of prep, but it is totally worth it! After a yummy dinner with the hubby, Alethia and Cassie came over and we carpooled out to Sara Lynn’s place.

I brought some of the leftover biscotti, Cassie brought some pastries, and Sara Lynn provided some lovely black blended tea for us all. After tea, we deviated from our standard and our yarn was left in our bags. I am not ashamed to admit (and neither are the others, so I do not feel bad divulging this in my blog) that a few of us are avid Lord of the Rings fans, both in novel and cinema. Instead of some more traditional knitting, a vicious battle for Middle Earth ensued.

Alethia=red, Cassie=green, Sara Lynn=yellow, Myself=black

This is the Lord of the Rings nerd-tastic rendition of the game Risk. Seeing as it is Sara Lynn’s game and she has played more frequently, she obliterated the rest of us in the end. The picture above was taken fairly early on in the game, so it doesn’t portray the devastation that she inflicted upon us. All in all, a marvelous night in with the girls 🙂 Whoever coined the phrase “A girls night out” clearly didn’t know have a good time at home with friends. The best times in my opinion fall under the category of “A girls night in”. So, in summary, not a very productive weekend in the yarny sense, but a remarkably enjoyable one nonetheless ^_^

Thanks for sharing my happiness with me!

~Lacey

**Spicy Peanut Soup

2 Tablespoons vegetable oil

1/2 cup fresh minced onion

3 Tablespoons fresh minced garlic

1 Tablespoon Cayenne pepper

3 diced carrots -large

3 diced potatoes- large

40 oz (5 cups) chicken stock

8 Tablespoons of peanut butter

1 12 oz. can of kernel corn (drained)

2-3 chicken breasts (pre-cooked and diced/cubed)

Salt & pepper to taste and chopped peanuts.

Heat the oil in a medium/large stock pot. Add garlic and onion and saute 2-3 minutes of med/high heat. Add cayenne pepper and saute another minute. Add carrots and potatoes, stirring and coating thoroughly. Add chicken stock. Bring to a boil then reduce to a simmer. Add peanut butter and corn, stirring until peanut butter is melted. Add chicken and season with salt & pepper. Simmer 1/2 an hour and top with chopped peanuts. Warm, crusty French or Italian bread is HIGHLY recommended on the side! Serves 5-6

 

4 thoughts on “One Happy Weekend :)

  1. What a lovely post, your Mum looks very talented, I would love to see more examples of scrap booking. Planning your sisters wedding sounds like great fun. I love the Italian invites. The soup recipe looks delicious, I will have to try it, but the biscotti sounds good too, any recipes to share…nudge nudge. I love board games and had no idea there was a Lord of The Rings version of risk. My Boys are both big ‘Lord of the Rings’ fans. I am off to ebay now for some Tokien inspired Christmas shopping…

  2. Lacey, I so enjoy reading your blog. You are such a positive, happy person, it gives me such inspiration! The peanut soup recipe sounds great, and I plan to try it. Keep up the good work, learning, loving and being happy! See you in January…Aunt Connie

  3. Lacey, your weekend sounds like a bunch of fun. I can’t wait to see more about your sister’s upcoming wedding. The plans must be so exciting. Love that you put the yarn aside for a great game. There is always time for yarn.
    hugs to you,
    Meredith

Leave a Reply

