An Unexpected Weekend

Hellu Everyone!

Well, I sure have had one doozy of a weekend. Saturday started off as usual. Bryon and I enjoyed breakfast together. I ran to pick up the next week’s worth of groceries. We then spend some time “together” in the living room, which translates to him playing his video games and me knitting away while I watched him. It may not be a normal way of spending time together in some people’s minds, but it works well for both of us! Since I don’t get to see him during the week (thanks to us working separate shifts), I am remarkably happy just to be in the same room as him during the weekend πŸ™‚ After the mundane routine, we headed out to an evening bonfire with our church family. A better evening couldn’t have been had.

Unfortunately, the stunning purple and orange sunset behind the trees wouldn't turn up in the picture.

The weather was absolutely perfect and we had a good crowd show up. Our worship pastor and his lovely family offered to have the bonfire in their spacious backyard.

Plenty of food and friends gathered around an enormous fire. Ah. Weekend perfection. That is, until the sun disappeared and I discovered I didn’t feel very well. Not even a full day later, I find myself sitting in the Emergency Room with Bryon at my side. 39 hours, several tests, and a surgery later, I am now home minus my appendix.

I am incredibly happy to be home again, just the three incisions in my tummy a painful reminder of the past two days. I am stuck at home without work for at least the rest of this week. Well, it seems as though I suddenly have a lot of time on my hands to work on my latest knitting projects. I guess I can’t complain about that! I was able to take my projects with me to the hospital and I was able to work on them a little bit there. The IV prevented too much work though. Now that it’s not inhibiting me anymore, my needles are clicking away! I also have a book to keep me company when my fingers get tired. But mostly, I sit and knit while some of my favorite movies play in the background. Long ones such as the Lord of the Rings series are the best for times like this ^_^ That sums up my waking time, since the pain medication they gave me makes me quite sleepy.

Here's my "Party Pile"

Well, currently my grandmother stopped over to visit and spend time with me since Bryon is back to work now. He took yesterday off to be with me during my surgery. So I’m off to spend some time with her and I will talk to you all later! Hopefully your week is off to a better start than mine!

Mina is making a wonderful companion too πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “An Unexpected Weekend

  1. Poor Lacey, what a horrible shock! I hope you are well and truly on the mend! It sounds like you are being very sensible, lots of rest, yarn and movies. Don’t try to do too much too soon. Good old Mina looking after ‘Mommmy’. πŸ™‚ x

  2. Oh my goodness! Life does send unexpected little twists our way! I’m glad the appendix was caught in time. I hope you mend well and will be back to your usual, healthy self very soon. xxx

Leave a Reply

