A Wool Gathering

Hey everyone!

I had a wonderful morning with my fiber friend Alethia at A Wool Gathering at Young’s Jersey Dairy Farm! We got up early (well, for a Saturday) and headed out for our first trip out there. We were greeted by animals:

Not very woolly, but what do you expect at a dairy farm?

Fluffy sheepies- mom and little one

Fussy alpacas, particularly the tan one

Exceptionally silky Angora bunnies

A sheep dog & pretty little ducks

And lots and lots of fun things to buy! A serious case of the “I-wannas” took place and I really want to learn to spin now. Look at all of these bags of fluff!

Mounds and mounds of natural fibers!

There were baskets lined up of pretty dyed bits as well from various vendors. The colors were just gorgeous and there was such a great variety! I wanted to purchase one of these to help me out with all of the pretty fibers!

These were the larger wheels, the smaller ones were down by where I was standing.

I think spinning wheels are so beautiful. They themselves are a work of art. The only trouble is I struggle finding time to crochet and knit. Trying to find time to spin would be even more of a challenge. Not to mention I need to polish up my knitting before I can even think about adding in a new hobby! Some day perhaps….

For those of us who don’t spin, many vendors had buckets/tables/shelves/racks full of skeins and hanks for sale.

I love the colors!

I’ll admit I came away with some new yarn, as did Alethia. I now have some pretty green self-striping sock yarn, some pretty red/pink alpaca that I plan on knitting into a happy gift for my dear sister, and a HUGE hank of silver/gray alpaca that I have no immediate plans for. The deal was so good I couldn’t possibly pass it up! All Bryon could say when I returned was, “That’s a lot of yarn.” Observant right? They also had every conceivable book available on crocheting, knitting, tatting, weaving, and felting. I’ve never seen so many fiber craft books in the same place at one time! Alethia lost herself for a bit amidst all of the pages.

This is just the weaving literature!

Aside from spending too much money and wanting to spend more, there were other things to do at the faire. We also watched the ducks being herded through a little obstacle course,

and got to see a sheep shearing followed by a Q&A.

That sheep was tossed all around while he shaved it down. Th sheep didn't seem to mind in the slightest.

A much neater looking lamb leaves behind a much larger looking fleece than I expected. 6 lbs!

Such a busy day! We had a great time though and learned a bit about owning these lovely animals and a lot about self-control ๐Ÿ™‚ Now that the event has come and gone, my yarn diet is reinstated until I finish at least two (preferably three) projects. Wish me luck!

Lacey

2 thoughts on “A Wool Gathering

  1. Wow! What a heavenly place. Start saving ready for next year!!! It looks like you had a fantastic time…all those animals, fibre, wheels, yarn and books….what more could a girl want? I loved all your photographs too. Bryon sounds like a very reasonable man he observed but did not complain. ๐Ÿ™‚ x

Leave a Reply

