Grandma’s Hand-Me-Downs

Good Evening!

After a lovely morning at the local farmer’s market and cooking, I’ve gotten some cleaning and organizing done, which always makes me feel accomplished! Going to the market is always a joy, even if I don’t buy anything. The weather felt like a storm this morning, so it was wonderfully cool and quiet walking around. It’s held right at the town square every Saturday morning so they block off the a large section for all the vendors to park their vehicles and set up their canopys.

It’s fairly tiny, but it’s always nice to talk to the people and see what all they’re selling. Today I picked up some lovely veggies for tomorrow’s dinner and some hard tack cinnamon candy for Bryon. After all that, I finally unpacked a bag of items my grandmother gave to me. She is moving now and is going through a bunch of her old things to put up for auction. There were a few things she set aside for my sister and I, but most special I thought were the two teapots handed down to me.

I love them!

Don’t you love the little elephant creamer cup? It’s only about the size of a golf ball! Both of these little pots are intended for personal use as they only hold about 2 teacups worth. I especially love the brown one. The picture is awful with bad lighting, but it is a stunning metallic earthy color. Thanks Grandma! I’ve been collecting teapots slowly for about a year or so now and I love seeing all the different shapes, sizes, and styles there are. Here is the main body of my collection:

If you look on the second shelf up from the bottom you can see two small figures between the pot, creamer, and sugar bowl. Each of those is a miniature tea set and both can fit in the palm of your hand. They are darling and I love them dearly  ^_^ I have another miniature set as well which is slightly larger than the two seen here. It was a gift to me from Bryon’s grandmother. Needless to say, I need another shelving unit in my kitchen in which to display my other additions! Each pot (or set)  has its own little story which makes it all the more special. I’m sure you all know how that is.

On a crafty note, I finished all my squares for my pillow cover today! Yay! They’re currently blocking so I am practicing my patience. I hate waiting around for things….alas. I’m so excited to get the front put together and finish the crazy thing! Heaven knows it’s been sitting aside in a bag for quite some time now just waiting for me to sit down and work on it. The squares really do work up rather quickly, it’s just an issue of finding the time to just sit and work and keep Mina from interfering too much as well. Remember that spot on the loveseat next to me where she loves to sleep? Unfortunately it’s also where my yarn lies when I’m working, especially if I have several color changes.

I had to lay the circle I was working on down in order to take the picture. She didn't seem to mind.

I’m off to do a bit more work on Momma’s shawl before I head off to bed. Hope you all enjoy the last bit of your weekend!

~Lacey & Mina

2 thoughts on “Grandma’s Hand-Me-Downs

  1. Lacey,
    I just love reading your blog. You make me smile and even chuckle out loud once in a while. I am so glad of the joys in your life and by sharing them, they also become the joy of others. 🙂

  2. I would love to be able to pop round for a cup of tea, I would like the Elephant Pot, very cute. Does Bryon know how lucky he is that you buy him candy. 🙂 Hi Bryon. I think all that chasing mice has tired Mina out, or she is just duping you into thinking she is safe by your yarn…can’t wait to see your finished work….

Leave a Reply

