Learning to Knit

Hello everyone!

Another day come and gone, another chance to practice my new skill!

Ok, so it’s just a little wonky dish cloth, but it’s an accomplishment! Maybe one more before my stitches are actually straight enough to make something presentable outside of my kitchen sink. Can anyone tell me why I can’t get it into an actual square shape? It is rather diamond-ish, especially if you can see it without my hand. I also learned while I was making this that I am apparently a Continental (or German) knitter as opposed to the more popular English/American. Who knew?! According to some people (including my teacher, who is an English knitter) I guess that makes me weird. I say, it just makes me different than the other ladies around here! What kind of knitter are you? Did you learn it from your teacher or did you just do what felt right for you?

After completing my little practice rag, I had to run out and grab a few things before my weekend began. Yay for 3 day weekends! Guess who helped me out with the groceries?

Isn’t she a great little helper? I try to use cloth bags as much as I can but sometimes I don’t have enough room for everything, resulting in the plastic coming home with me. She loves it when that happens and must taken advantage! That pic was taken just after being caught fervently attacking the defenseless bag. Oh Mina…..

Alright all, I’m off to finish prepping for a fun weekend. I’m hoping to get some good hooky time in on this WIP as well! 

Thanks for stopping by!

Lacey & Mina

3 thoughts on “Learning to Knit

  1. Hi. Depending on the stitch pattern and the yarn used, the dish cloth may have been destined to be a diamond! Happy knitting, Judy

    • Unfortunately the lady who taught me did her own little dish cloth at the same time and her’s was most certainly a square. I’ve tried smaller needles and that has helped a bit. Maybe I just need to go smaller!

  2. Pingback: Knitting Cramp | minaandme

Leave a Reply

