Hi There!

Hi!

This is Mina! We’ve had her just about a year now and she is deeply involved in our lives by this point. She’s darling, devoted, and a downright royal nuisance! Anyone with pets completely understands this 🙂 For clarification, it’s pronounced “Meena” as she is named for Wilhelmina Harker from Bram Stoker’s Dracula. She hardly leaves my side when I am home, which unfortunately includes my yarn time. You see, she loves it just about as much as I do! Just as I love to learn and create with it, she loves chasing and eating it…Such is the passion of a young cat. When she’s not hunting my skeins, she still insists on being involved by lying in my lap, completely in my way of my yarn and hook/needles. Even as I attempt to write this she insists on being the center of attention. You’ll frequently hear (read?) me refer to her as The Mew, partly due to her obnoxiously loud “MEW!”

By the second day after getting her she needed to cuddle up!

I have been reading other craft blogs for a month or two now and have fallen in love with the idea of sharing crafty thoughts and friendships with people from all over the world! It works as a journal, a social network, and a beautiful way of being kept accountable for projects which have a tendency to be forgotten amidst busy schedules. My family thinks I am a bit daffy for being so obsessed with yarny, woolly hobbies so I wanted to get involved with some others who shared my love 🙂 My husband, bless his patience with me, was trying to help me come up with a name for my blog. He spends time playing video games while I sit and yarn (yes, I’ve made yarn a verb for all intensive purposes since I change knit and crochet projects constantly) so I’m frequently listening to gunfire and zombie moans as I work. His first several title attempts were along the lines of “How to Yarn While Surviving the Zombie Apocalypse.” Can you understand why I declined? Finally he came to his senses and gave me the honest suggestion of “Mina and Me.” He admitted that it was his best thought yet. Thus it began!

Anywho, I hope you’ll join Mina and me as I continue my fun with the fiber arts. I have rediscovered crochet and it is a large passion in my life. I’m in the process of making up a couple of different items while I, in the meantime, am learning to knit! It’s so fun to learn new skills! I’ve got so much I want to create and experiment with. My stash needs worked through. So much yarn and so little time!

Thanks for stopping by!

~Lacey & The Mew

3 thoughts on “Hi There!

  1. Lacey! Love the blog and the pics! Where are YOU? Have lots of fun with your blog! It sounds like a lot of fun. I love you and your yarning. 🙂

    Love,
    Your MOMMA (and proud of it)

  2. Oh Mina is beautiful, I hope we see lots more of her. Lacey (my dog) loves to be involved with what I am doing, she likes to lie like a brake on my spinning wheel, she likes to see new fabric, sit on my lap when I crochet, that is ok but she is a German shepherd, Rottweiler crossbreed not a lap dog, but I let her on my lap and can crochet around her! She also loves new shoes and new clothes, I am in an all male household but Lacey is like another female to share girly things with. I am so glad you have started a blog, you can share away with us. I can’t work out how to ‘follow’ you on wordpress because I would like to add you to my blogroll on my blog. I will be popping in regularly to see ya. 🙂 x

    • Thank you! From the pictures I’ve seen of your Lacey she really does seem a bit too big to be a lap dog! I’m impressed you’re able to work around her when you do let her on your lap 🙂

Leave a Reply

